BREAKING NEWS

Sunday, November 6, 2016

Mailbox Monday and It's Monday, What Are You Reading? Nov 7 Edition



Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia who now blogs at To Be Continued. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Mailbox Monday now has a permanent home on its blog. Link up to share your MM.


So I'm at Dollarama with my son who loves to buy putty. It helps him relax when he's doing homework, so if you have a fidgety kid who has a hard time concentrating get him/her some putty to manipulate while doing homework. Anyhow, I'm in their very small book section, where I spotted these 3 beauties at $3.00 each. I just had to get them:


Shadows and Strongholds by Elizabeth Chadwick

The one thing Brunin Fitzwarin knows best is nothing worthwhile is easy-especially not becoming a knight. But nothing will be more challenging than the past he's struggling to leave behind.

Sent away by his father, Brunin is now a knight-in-training to the Lord of Ludlow-and still utterly alone. That is, until the youngest daughter of the house, Hawise, befriends him.

With England in turmoil, Brunin must fight with his lord to support King Stephen for the English crown. As the war rages on and hits particularly close to home, Brunin must defeat the shadows of his childhood and take on the mantle of knight, confronting the future head on.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be hooked on this well-crafted medieval tale of pride, loyalty, and conflict as one man fights the shadows of his past and his future.



The Outlaw Knight by Elizabeth Chadwick

A Deadly Rival.
An Ancient Family Dispute.
An Impossible Love.

He should have known better than to fight with the future King John. Ruthless and feared, John is not one to forget or forgive. But Fulke FitzWarin couldn't help himself, and now the vindictive John has insured that Fulke will never become lord of the castle he loves.

Instead of accepting his fate, Fulke rebels. He begins an affair with Maude Walter, the wealthy widow desired by John himself. Negotiating a maze of deceit, treachery, and shifting alliances, Fulke's route to success is blocked at every turn. And when the turmoil of the Magna Carta rebellion combines with a shocking tragedy, everything Fulke has fought for is thrown into the path of destruction.


The Pride and the Peacock by Victoria Holt

An overseas voyage. A cursed opal. Forbidden Desire.

Raised in the shadow of her family's financial ruin, Jessica Clavering has never felt as though she fit in. When her only friend, an elderly neighbor, offers her the chance at a new life, she's eager to take it. His only condition: she must marry her son, Joss.

The newlyweds inherit a fabled opal mine in Australia. It's only once they arrive on the faraway continent that Jessica starts to uncover her family's dark past and her connection to the Green Flash, an exquisite and spellbinding opal. The stone arouses a dangerous desire in anyone who sees it—even her husband.







It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week. It's a great post to organise yourself. It's an opportunity to visit and comment, and er... add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.

Share this:

13 comments :

  1. Enjoy your books! They all look lovely, especially The Pride of the Peacock.

    Your mention of the putty reminded me that we were given "stress balls" to squeeze at work; they weren't putty, but they were squishy like that. They worked!

    Thanks for sharing...and for visiting my blog. Enjoy your week!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Mm I haven't read a Victoria Holt book for years but hope its good. And like the sound of the Elizabeth Chadwick ones. Good scoring!
    The character in my book at moment knits when stressed! FBI agent!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh nice picks ups at $3 a pop! I'll have to take a look at the Dude Diet. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love finding bargain books. My overloaded Kindle can attest to that. :) Hope you enjoy them.

    http://www.thebusymomsdaily.com/2016/11/mailbox-monday-nov-7.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. I hope all of your books are enjoyable.

    I know of Elizabeth Chadwick but have not read any of her books. Not sure they are for me. :)

    Have a wonderful week, Laura.

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the tip about the putty. Enjoy all of your new books.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I thought I'd read everything by Victoria Holt but that one doesn't sound familiar. I'll have to check it out. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I used to love Victoria Holt! Enjoy your books.

    ReplyDelete
  9. So glad I found your site through Mailbox Monday. Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ohh - those are nice pick ups! I read a lot of Victoria Holt Gothic romances back when I started reading romance. :-) Hope you enjoy them all.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for commenting! I appreciate your feedback.

Love audiobooks?

 
Back To Top
Copyright © 2009-2017 Laura Fabiani Library of Clean Reads . Designed by OddThemes OddThemes