Wednesday, July 9, 2014

The Yielding by Tamara Leigh

The Yielding: Book Two in the Age of Faith Series by Tamara Leigh
Amazon Digital Services
ISBN: 978-0985352936
Published December 18, 2012
Kindle edition, 350 pages

This is the third book I read from author Tamara Leigh who I can count on when I'm in the mood for some good clean romance. The Yielding is the second book in the Age of Faith series, following book one The Unveiling, which I loved. (Read my review) Next up is going to be The Redeeming, which I look forward to reading. Even though the characters in all the Age of Faith series are related to one another, these are all stand-alone novels with their own stories.

When Lady Beatrix Wulfrith helps her sister escape an unwanted marriage, they are pursued by their enemies, and Beatrix suffers a terrible accident that leaves her injured and an enemy knight dead. Accused of murder, Beatrix believes she can defend herself even if her memory is muddled as to what really happened that day. But the dead knight's brother, Lord Michael D'Arci, is bent on avenging his brother's death. When Beatrix, who has unwavering faith in God, shows kindness to D'Arci and saves his life, his revenge begins to waver and he now struggles with justice and allegiance to the family he serves.

Once again, Leigh has managed to easily transport me to the medieval era, with its speech and expressions, clothing, way of life, knighthood and chivalry. I love the worlds she builds through her books! And her characters are well-built and likable. Although Beatrix was vulnerable after her injury, she was a strong heroine, learning to survive on her own and not taking the easy way out when she could have. D'Arci has a personal dilemma and struggles with the choices he has to make. As in the first book, faith in God is tested but not in a preachy way and also in conformity with how the Church was viewed in medieval times.

New book cover
I liked the plot and the unlikely romance between the two main characters. Leigh is a master at developing a relationship between two people who are essentially enemies. I kept wondering how Beatrix was going to fair at her trial when it seemed that all was against her. I did not guess at how she was going to portray her defense when the clue to her innocence was there all along. It was brilliant.

There are five books in the Age of Faith series: The Unveiling, The Yielding, The Redeeming, The Kindling and The Longing. They all have new book covers and you can learn more about Tamara Leigh's books by visiting her website. If you love clean medieval romances with good tension between the characters, this is a series not to be missed.

Note: This book is rated C = clean read.

Reviewed by Laura

Disclosure: Thanks to the author for sending me this book for review. I was not compensated in any other way, nor told how to rate or review this product.

Share this:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! I appreciate your feedback.

Visit Us Today

Visit Us Today
iRead: getting your book in the hands of readers
Back To Top
Copyright © 2009-2017 Laura Fabiani Library of Clean Reads . Designed by OddThemes OddThemes