Tuesday, September 15, 2020

A Promise Given by Michelle Cox (Audiobook Review and Giveaway!)

A Promise Given is the third book in the Henrietta and Inspector Howard series. Another great listen in this series.


Series Title: A Promise Given (A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel #3) by Michelle Cox
Narrated by: Jayne Entwistle
Length: 14 hours 21 mins
Category: Adult Fiction
Genre: Historical Mystery
Content Rating: PG-13 + M (There are sexual scenes, not too explicit, some violence)


This third book in the Henrietta and Inspector Howard series provides a delightful romp through the English countryside and back.

Anxious to be married, Henrietta and Clive push forward with their wedding plans despite their family differences, made worse now by Oldrich Exley’s attempts to control the Von Harmons. When the long-awaited wedding day arrives, there is more unfolding than just Clive and Henrietta’s vows of love. Stanley and Elsie’s relationship is sorely tested by the presence of the dashing Lieutenant Harrison Barnes-Smith and by Henrietta’s friend Rose―a situation that grows increasingly dark and confused as time goes on.

As Clive and Henrietta begin their honeymoon at Castle Linley, the Howards’ ancestral estate in England, they encounter a whole new host of characters, including the eccentric Lord and Lady Linley and Clive’s mysterious cousin, Wallace. When a man is murdered in the village on the night of a house party at the Castle, Wallace comes under suspicion―and Clive and Henrietta are reluctantly drawn into the case, despite Clive’s anxiety at involving his new bride and Henrietta’s distracting news from home.

Delicately attempting to work together for the first time, Clive and Henrietta set out to prove Wallace’s innocence, uncovering as they do so some rather shocking truths that will shake the Linley name and estate forever.

Reviewed by Laura Fabiani

In April, I read the ebook copy of this book and loved it, so when it was released in audiobook format I wanted to revisit the story by listening to it. I already listened to the audiobooks of the first book A Girl Like You and the second book A Ring of Truth and enjoyed them as much as when I read them in print format. And I pretty much feel the same way for this audiobook too.

A Promise Given is the third book in the Henrietta and Inspector Howard series. It continues from where A Ring of Truth left off. Although these books can be read as stand-alone, I think it's better to read them, or listen to them, in order since the stories continue from where the previous books ended. Furthermore, each book gets better and better as Henrietta and Clive's story moves forward.

Henrietta and Clive get married in this novel! It's a beautiful affair and the setting really comes to life with the music of the era. There was more romance in this novel than the previous two as this memorable couple start their life together and discover the pleasure of wedded bliss during their honeymoon. They travel to England to visit Clive's uncle and aunt at Linley Castle where Clive spent his summers as a child. Here the author captures so well the aristocracy who is still holding on to the Edwardian era and have not quite accepted the Modern era that is changing society as they have known it.

In addition to the setting, this series also has good secondary characters, such as Elsie and Stanley who are very well developed and add so much to the storyline. Actually, the characters all come to life and seem to jump off the pages so that we could remember them easily from book to book. The mystery in this book takes place in England, and by the end of the novel, our characters are headed back to Chicago as their honeymoon has been cut short.

Once again, the narration by Jayne Entwistle is excellent, just like in the first two audiobooks. Half of the story takes place in England and of course, Jayne gets those accents right on, with the ability to switch from one accent to another seamlessly. She continues to bring the story and characters to life with her well done impressions. I'm so glad she's narrating the whole series, since I'm now used to her voice for these characters.

After reading and listening to the first three books, I'm invested in this well-written series with characters who have grown and who I feel I've come to know intimately. Henrietta and Clive make a formidable duo and it's always fum to see where Michelle Cox takes them next!

If you like atmospheric historical fiction with mystery and romance, give this series a try, either in print or audiobook format.

I'm now listening to the fourth audiobook A Veil Removed, so watch for my audiobook review next week.

Disclosure: I was provided with a downloadable audiobook. I was not told how to rate or review this product.

Buy the Book:


Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as "Novel Notes of Local Lore," a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago's forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. Coincidentally, her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and many others, so she might be on to something. Unbeknownst to most, Michelle hoards board games she doesn't have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music. Also marmalade.

Connect with the Author: website ~ facebook ~twitter ~ instagram ~ goodreads


Jayne Entwistle is an award-winning audiobook narrator known most notably for her narration of the Flavia De Luce series by Alan Bradley. She received the prestigious Odyssey Award for The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and the Odyssey Honor Award for The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry. In addition to several Earphones Awards, AudioFile magazine has included her narration on their list of Best Audiobooks of the Year. When not immersed in fabulous books, Jayne can be found on-screen in television shows such as The Good Place, Feud: Bette and Joan, You're the Worst, and Maron. Originally from the North of England, Jayne currently lives in Los Angeles.

Ends Oct 9, 2020

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share this:


  1. Thanks so much, Laura, for this amazing review! As always, I really appreciate your careful read/listen of each book and your insightful comments! You've made my month!


Thank you for commenting! I appreciate your feedback.

Visit Us Today

Visit Us Today
iRead: getting your book in the hands of readers
Back To Top
Copyright © 2009-2017 Laura Fabiani Library of Clean Reads . Designed by OddThemes OddThemes