Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Death Logs In by E.J. Simon (Review and Giveaway!)

After finishing Death Never Sleeps, I quickly picked up the second book in the series Death Logs In (such clever titles!) and tore through it. See what I thought of this sequel and enter to win a book or a $20 Amazon gift card!

Book Details:

Book Title: Death Logs In by E.J. Simon
Series: Michael Nicholas Book 2
Category: Adult Fiction, 340 pages
Genre: Thriller & Suspense., Technothriller
Publisher: Endeavour Media (UK)
Release date: Dec 14, 2017
Tour dates: Aug 13 to Oct 12, 2018
Content Rating: PG-13 + M (contains f-words, religious expletives and crude language)

Book Description:

Some of the most powerful people in the world want to kill Michael Nicholas. Only his brother Alex can save him—the problem is that Alex is dead.

It’s been almost a year since Alex Nicholas, a Queens-based underworld boss, was gunned down. After Alex’s brutal murder, Michael inherited not only his brother’s business, but his enemies. Michael is now a key player in a world he once feared. By day, he is the head of a Fortune 500 company. By night, the CEO of Tartarus, one of the world’s largest illegal gambling operations.

Before his death, Alex invested heavily in breakthrough artificial intelligence software so that he could live forever. It worked. In his virtual form, Alex can communicate with Michael and monitor information—and people—in ways the NSA would envy.

It is Alex who discovers Michael’s life is in danger. He detects plots that reach from the darkest corners of Queens to the highest officials in the Vatican—and they all want Michael dead.

Michael is now in a race to save his life, but he is never alone. Alex is there to help him navigate through this maze of life and death. Also protecting Michael from the forces closing in around him is Sindy Steele, a beautiful and lethal bodyguard.

How far is Michael willing to go to save his own life and that of his family? Guided only by a familiar face on a computer screen, will the information Alex discovers allow Michael to go from being the hunted to the hunter?

My Review:
Reviewed by Laura Fabiani

After finishing Death Never Sleeps, I quickly picked up the second book in the series Death Logs In (such clever titles!) and tore through it. Now that Michael has discovered just how much he likes the thrill and danger that comes with his deceased brother Alex's bookie business, he fully lives a double life both in business and his personal life.

So I went from liking Michael who was more vulnerable in the first book to wanting to smack him real good for his adultery, lack of good sense, and lack of feeling. Right from the beginning of the novel, he starts an affair almost as soon as he meets Sandy Steele, a cold-blooded woman who becomes his bodyguard. It was too fast. The stakes now are much higher with this treachery and past enemies who continue to want to kill him. This extends to his wife, who twice came close to being killed.

What I loved about this book was the continuing plot centered around the artificial intelligence (AI) software in the form of Michael's brother Alex who communicates with him through a laptop. There's the whole question of Is Alex really dead? Once again, this fast-paced thriller kept me hooked even as I disliked how little the affair emotionally affected this couple who claimed to love each other and have been married for about twenty years. I wished there would have been more realistic repercussions as a means of personal conflict for Michael. And once again, I wish there hadn't been so many f-bombs and religious profanity throughout the novel.

This was a good sequel that leaves the reader wanting more. E.J. Simon's ability to get the reader emotionally involved is evident by my own strong reactions to the characters' behaviours and the unique and exciting storyline. Michael has made another deadly enemy and I'm eager to dig into the third book Death Logs Out to see how it will all come to an end.

To read more reviews, please visit E.J. Simon's page on iRead Book Tours.

Buy the Book:

Meet the Author:

E. J. Simon is the author of three commercial fiction thrillers, Death Never Sleeps, Death Logs In and Death Logs Out. He has just completed his fourth manuscript, Death in the Cloud.

He is a member of the Authors Guild, the Mystery Writers of America and the North Carolina Writer’s Network. He holds an M.A. in Corporate & Political Communications from Fairfield University and a B.A. in Journalism from the University of South Carolina. He lives with his family in Cary, North Carolina in the United States. For more information, visit his website:

Connect with E.J.: Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram

Enter the Giveaway!
Ends Oct 20, 2018

Share this:


  1. I enjoyed learning about this novel and series. It sounds enthralling. Thanks.

  2. I love good thrillers, and this is right up my alley. I can't wait to get started!

  3. This sounds like one that will keep me interested.

  4. Sounds like an interesting book that I would enjoy.


Thank you for commenting! I appreciate your feedback.

Visit Us Today

Visit Us Today
iRead: getting your book in the hands of readers
Back To Top
Copyright © 2009-2017 Laura Fabiani Library of Clean Reads . Designed by OddThemes OddThemes