BREAKING NEWS

Sunday, September 8, 2013

Mailbox Monday, and It's Monday, What Are You Reading? Sept 9 Edition

Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia who now blogs at To Be Continued. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Yolanda at Notorious Spinks Talks is hosting for the month of September. You can also view the touring blog list here for the upcoming months.

Review books:

Daughter of the God-King by Anne Cleeland (from Sourcebooks)

In the dark, mysterious tombs of Cairo, a thrilling puzzle awaits to be discovered.

Hattie Blackhouse is the daughter of famous Egyptologists who've gone missing at their latest dig site in Thebes. When Hattie arrives to investigate, it becomes clear that something is definitely amiss in the tombs of Cairo. Here, Hattie discovers the tracks of a double agent, working for Napoleon, with secrets buried deeper than the Pharoahs. In a foreign place, where friends can just as easily be enemies, Hattie must find a way to pull the pieces back together—including herself. In the tradition of Lauren Willig and Deanna Raybourn, Daughter of the God-King offers up an engaging, intricate puzzle.



Depression and Your Child: A Guide for Parents and Caregivers by Deborah Serani (Pump Up Your Book Tour)

Seeing your child suffer in any way is a harrowing experience for any parent. Mental illness in children can be particularly draining due to the mystery surrounding it, and the issue of diagnosis at such a tender age. Depression and Your Child gives parents and caregivers a uniquely textured understanding of pediatric depression, its causes, its symptoms, and its treatments. Serani weaves her own personal experiences of being a depressed child along with her clinical experiences as a psychologist treating depressed children.


Scare Scape by Sam Fisher (from Scholastic)

Three wishes go awry in a middle-grade debut as comical as it is spooky.

Toxic Vapor Worms. Shark Hounds. King-Crab Spiders. Two-Headed Mutant Rodents.

These are just a few of the beasts featured in the pages of Scare Scape, the creepiest comic book around. They are vicious. They are terrifying. They are, luckily, totally made up.

Morton Clay is a huge fan of Scare Scape, so he isn't easily frightened. He's not afraid of the dark, or grossed-out by bugs and slugs. But when Morton and his siblings, James and Melissa, find an old stone statue buried in their yard, they discover that there is good reason to be afraid. . . .

Spooky, funny, and fresh, Sam Fisher's middle-grade debut explores the bonds and rivalries that are unique to siblings . . . even as it revels in monstrous mayhem!


Ultra by David Carroll (from Scholastic)

Keep the legs moving…
keep the legs moving…

“Most people don’t even know why they are out here,” Kern said. “They don’t know if they’re running tosomething, or running from something.” I thought about this for a few moments. “What if someone isn’t doing either?” I asked. “What if he’s, you know, just running?” 

Quinn takes on a huge challenge when he enters his first ultra-marathon, the punishing Shin-Kicker 100 — a 24-hour race that will push him to the very limit of his endurance. 

A gripping debut novel by ultra-marathon runner David Carroll. 



Can't and Able by Cynthia Fabian (from author)

What does it feel like when you just can't do what the other kids, I mean stars, do? Can't kept trying, but he never seemed to shine as brightly as the other stars, and was always teased and bullied by others. Can't feels that he is less than the other stars and just cannot shine. It wasn't until Can't realized he Can, that everything changed for him. Find out how Can't became a hero and ultimately became Can. Able is the star who had it all. Able helps Can't to realize that he can really shine. Connect with Can't, Able, and all the stars that live in their neighborhood and beyond in the star-studded children's book Can't and Able: An Inspirational Story.




This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. This is where we keep track of what we are currently reading and plan to read.  The kidlit version is hosted by Jen at Teach Mentor Texts.

Read and reviewed:
Family Tree Book One: Better to Wish by Ann M. Martin (poignant historical middle-grade fiction)
Fierce Beauty: Preserving the World of Wild Cats by Bhagavan Antle

Bookish Posts:
Extra Extra Read All About It! (book news)
My Reading Plans for September 2013

Currently Reading:
Grave Consequences by Lisa T. Bergren
Will in Scarlet by Matthew Cody

Hope you all have a great reading week!

Share this:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! I appreciate your feedback.

Love audiobooks?

 
Back To Top
Copyright © 2009-2017 Laura Fabiani Library of Clean Reads . Designed by OddThemes OddThemes